Friday, September 20, 2019

Indian Feminists

Savitri Phule

1831–1897) – one of the earliest Indian feminists. Started the first school for girls in the subcontinent.
Tarabai Shinde (1850–1910) – activist whose work Stri Purush Tulana is considered the first modern Indian feminist text.
Pandita Ramabai (1858–1922) – social reformer a champion for the emancipation of women in British India.[63]Kamini Roy (1864–1933) – poet, suffragette, and first woman honours graduate in India.[64]
Sarala Devi Chaudhurani (1872–1945) – early feminist and founder of the Bharat Stree Mahamandal, one of the first women's organisations in India.[65]
Saroj Nalini Dutt (1887–1925) – early social reformer who pioneered the formation of educational Women's Institutes in Bengal.[66]
Durgabai Deshmukh (1909–1981) – public activist for women's emancipation and was also the founder of Andhra Mahila Sabha.[67]
Barnita Bagchi – scholar and sociologist with a focus on women's education.[68]
Jasodhara Bagchi (1937–2015) – founder of the School of Women's Studies at Jadavpur University.[69]
Rita Banerji – feminist author and founder of The 50 Million Missing Campaign, an online, global lobby working to raise awareness about the female gendercide(femicide) in India.
Prem Chowdhry – social scientist, feminist, Senior Academic Fellow and critic of violence against couples refusing arranged marriages. She is a Life Member of the Center for Women Studies.[70] She is a well-known scholar of gender studies, authority on the political economy and social history of Haryana state in India[71] and daughter of Hardwari Lal,[72] the renowned educationist and Indian National Congress member of parliament for Haryana.[73]
Mira Datta Gupta – activist for women's issues and one of the founding members of the All India Women's Conference.[74]Meghna Pant – author known for taking a strong feminist stance in her writing and workPadma Gole – poet whose writings faithfully depicted the domestic lives of Indian middle-class women.[75]
Devaki Jain – founder of the Institute of Social Studies Trust and scholar in the field of feminist economics.[76]Ratna Kapur - academic, postcolonial and feminist legal theorist; co-author "Subversive Sites: Feminist Engagements with Law in India" (1996); "Subversive Sites 20 Years Later: Rethinking Feminist Engagements with Law" Australian Feminist Law Journal (2018)
Brinda Karat – first woman member of the CPI(M) Politburo and former Vice President of the All India Democratic Women's Association (AIDWA).[77]
Madhu Kishwar – founding president of Manushi Sangathan, a forum that will promote greater social justice and strengthen human rights, especially for women. She founded the magazine Manushi: A Journal about Women and Society devoted to feminism as well as to gender studies and activism in 1978 with Ruth Vanita.[78][79]
Vina Mazumdar – secretary of the first Committee on the Status of Women in India and founding Director of Centre for Women's Development Studies(CWDS).[80]Uma Narayan – feminist scholar, and Chair of Philosophy at Vassar College.[81]Asra Nomani – Indian-American journalist, author of Standing Alone in Mecca: An American Woman's Struggle for the Soul of IslamMedha Patkar – feminist social worker and politician who advocates for women's rights in post-independence India.[82]
Manasi Pradhan – founder of Honour for Women National Campaign, a nationwide movement to end violence against women in IndiaAmrita Pritam – first woman to win the Sahitya Akademi Award for literature.
Gita Sahgal[83] – writer and journalist on issues of feminism, fundamentalism, and racism, a director of prize-winning documentary films, and a women's rightsand human rights activist.[84][85]Manikuntala Sen – politician in the Communist Party of India whose memoir described her experiences as a woman activist.[86]
Vandana Shiva – environmentalist and prominent leader of the Ecofeministmovement.[87]
Sophia Duleep Singh –[88] prominent suffragette and daughter of Maharaja Duleep Singh. She was a firebrand feminist and is best remembered for her leading role in the Women's Tax Resistance League, but she also participated in other women's suffrage groups including the Women's Social and Political Union.[89] Secret documents revealed her identity as a firebrand "harridan law breaker" for her diaries revealed that she maintained contacts with the leaders of the Indian nationalist movement like Gopalkrishna GokhaleSarala Devi and Lala Lajpat Rai.[89]Nivedita Menon – feminist and academic. Author of Seeing like a Feminist.
Ruth Vanita – academic, activist and author who specializes in lesbian and gay studies, gender studies, British and South Asian literary history. She founded the magazine Manushi: A Journal about Women and Society devoted to feminism as well as to gender studies and activism in 1978 with Madhu Kishwar.[79][90]Ramarao Indira – academic, critic, rationalist who is an expert in modern feminism thoughts. She has written many articles and books on feminism in Kannadaand English.[91][92]
Theilin Phanbuh – chairperson of the Meghalaya State Commission for Womenand Padma Shri awardee[93][94]Angellica Aribam - Political activist, fourth-wave feminist. [95]
Elsa D'SIlva – founder of Safecity, Intersectional Feminist.
Kirthi Jayakumar – founder of The Red Elephant Foundation, Author, Artist and Intersectional Feminist.
Sharmila Rege – sociologist, Dalit Feminist, Activist in academia and Teacher of Women's Studies at Krantijyoti Savitribai Phule Women's Studies CenterSavitribai Phule Pune University, Pune.[96]
Neera Desai – founder of first Research Centre for Women's Studies in SNDT Women's University. She wrote her M.A. thesis on Women in Modern India, with a particular focus on the Bhakti Movement.[97]Jarjum Ete – chairperson of the Arunachal Pradesh State Commission on Women[98]Rajeswari Sunder Rajan – contemporary feminist and academic. Author of Real and Imagined Women: Gender, Culture, and Postcolonialism.[99]Gita Sen – academic, scholar, and activist specializing in population policy. She has worked with the United Nations System and is the General Coordinator of DAWN (Development Alternatives with Women for a New Era). Currently,[when?] Sen is an adjunct professor at Harvard University and a Professor Emeritus at the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore.[100]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Today's Question

Arrange the following words of Chomsky in chronological order in which they appeared: (i) Current issues in Linguistic Theory (ii) Syntactic...